Hoorah for Henry – and trophy glitter for Sean

HENRY Tomlinson won the Southport & Ainsdale Bowl with rounds of 72 and 70, two-under all told, on a day when only four competitors beat par.

It earned the Royal Lytham & St Annes player his first points of the season in the Cleveland Srixon Northern Order of Merit as he finished a shot clear of Wrexham’s Gareth Evans, the host club’s Sean Towndrow and Styal’s James McCormick.

Towndrow clinched the Lancashire Links Trophy for the best aggregate score over two days which included the Formby Hare.

Tomlinson, meanwhile, got off to a flying start when he birdied the first three holes but a treble bogey seven at the 15th spoiled an otherwise perfect set of figures.

He followed an eagle at the 530-yard ninth in the second round by parring the last nine holes.


SCORES (Par 72): 142 Henry Tomlinson (Royal Lytham & St Annes) 72 70; 143 Gareth Evans (Wrexham) 72 71, Sean Towndrow (S&A) 71 72, James McCormick (Styal) 71 72; 147 Jonathan Hurst (Pleasington) 73 74, Darragh Coghlan (Portmarnock) 72 75; 148 Ciaran Doherty (Bury) 77 71, Marcus Mohr (Bromborough) 74 74, John Carroll (Huyton & Prescot) 73 75; Joe Brice (Manchester) 73 75; 149 Andrew Heesom (Clitheroe) 78 71, Richie Blundell (Hillside) 76 73.



After five events


Name Club Points
Sean Towndrow Southport & Ainsdale 325
Jonathan Hurst Pleasington 275
Paul Howard Southport & Ainsdale 250
Paul Kinnear Formby 200
Richie Blundell Hillside 190
Henry Tomlinson Royal Lytham 150
John Carroll Huyton & Prescot 145
Paul McFerran Childwall 120
Mark Duncalf Formby 105
Adam Delves Old Padeswood 100
James McCormick Styal 100
Gareth Evans Wrexham 100
Darrah Coghlan Portmarnock 95
Matthew Ford Bramhall 75
Oscar Granstrom-Livesey Royal Mid-Surrey 75
Ciaran Doherty Bury 65
Daniel Sutton Walsall 60
Will Bowe Workington 60
Thomas Gandy Rowany 60
James Rooney West Lancs 50
David Peel Stockport 50
Alexander Elliott Prestbury 50
Joe Whittaker Bolton 45
Joey Lamb Wilpshire 40
Joshua Wilkinson Grange Park 40
Joe Bryce Manchester 35
Richard Bee Phoenix Park 30
Mark Rabone Southport & Ainsdale 30
Sean Blinkhorn Southport & Ainsdale 30
Marcus Mohr Bromborough 30
Dave Simpson Lytham Green Drive 25
Ian Kenwright Haydock Park 25
Chris Harrison Sandiway 20
Ken Hudson Hart Common 20
Kieran Waters Carlisle 15
Andrew Heesom Clitheroe 15
Michael Howard Royal Birkdale 10
Graeme Jackson Manchester 10
Stephen Warhurst Stockport 10



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: