Clarkin charges to Antlers victory

RISING star Curtis Clarkin claimed his second Cleveland Srixon Northern Order of Merit title of the season when he won the Antlers Trophy at Pleasington.

The plus one ranked Nelson player compiled rounds of 69 and 71 for a two-under-par aggregate to beat Lancashire County champion Mark Young, from Longridge, by a shot.

Clarkin, who triumphed in the Hulbert Trophy at Manchester last month, rolled in four birdies in each round, offset by two bogeys in the morning and cancelled out by a quartet in the afternoon.

And there was another winner on the day. Bury’s Ciaran Doherty, who won the Wilpshire Trophy 24 hours earlier, became the first holder of the East Lancashire Scratch Challenge Trophy awarded to the player with the best combined scores over the two events.

The 24-year-old plus two county player, who hold a 190 point lead over Clarkin in the merit stakes, said: “I’ve hit a good run of form as I did round about the same time last year. It’s great to win two trophies in successive days.”


SCORES (Par 71): 140 Curtis Clarkin (Nelson) 69 71; 141 Mark Young (Longridge) 70 71; 143 Tom Gandy (Rowany) 72 71; 144 Shaun Field (Nelson) 74 70, Anthony Harwood (Blackburn) 74 70; 145 Jack Shelly (Formby) 72 73, Ciaran Doherty (Bury) 68 77; 146 Paul McFerran (Childwall) 74 72, James Holt (Wilpshire) 70 76; 147 Jonathan Hurst (Pleasington) 74 73, Richie Blundell (Hillside) 73 74, Tim Cooper (Bolton) 71 76.


After 14 events

Name Club Points
Ciaran Doherty Bury 530
Curtis Clarkin Nelson 340
Sean Towndrow Southport & Ainsdale 325
Richie Blundell Hillside 300
Jonathan Hurst Pleasington 295
Thomas Gandy Rowany 295
Paul Howard Southport & Ainsdale 250
Sam Prince Altrincham 250
Dominic Barnes Caldy 250
Mark Young Longridge 250
Joe Bryce Manchester 240
John Carroll Huyton & Prescot 225
Paul Kinnear Formby 200
James Fletcher Preston 190
Kieran Waters Carlisle 165
Paul McFerran Childwall 160
Henry Tomlinson Royal Lytham 150
Mark Geddes Prenton 150
Lloyd Hart Heswall 150
Adam Smith Accrington 150
Chris Nuttall Accrington 150
Josh Meeks Lymm 120
Mark Duncalf Formby 105
Matthew Ford Mere 105
Adam Delves Old Padeswood 100
James McCormick Styal 100
Gareth Evans Wrexham 100
Darrah Coghlan Portmarnock 95
Anthony Harwood Blackburn 90
Shaun Field Nelson 80
Oscar Granstrom-Livesey Royal Mid-Surrey 75
Mark Birkett Todmorden 75
Matthew Fitzpatrick Hallamshire 75
Steve McGlynn Preston 75
Marcus Mohr Bromborough 75
Mark Penney Alderley Edge 75
Richard Shaw Enville 75
Joe Armitt Prestbury 75
Lee Mayers Fairhaven 70
Daniel Creaney S&A 65
Ben Levene Bramall 65
Daniel Sutton Walsall 60
Will Bowe Workington 60
Tom Dolan Bromborough 60
Ken Hudson Hart Common 60
Clive Robertson Green Howarth 60
James Rooney West Lancs 50
David Peel Stockport 50
Alexander Elliott Prestbury 50
Daryl Callister Mount Murray 50
Jack Duncalf Sandiway 50
James Hornsby Heswall 50
Ian Hardman Accrington 50
Brett Langstreth Wilpshire 50
Joe Whittaker Bolton 45
Steven Jopson Carlisle 45
David Hurd Wallasey 45
Toby Roberts Lancaster 45
Thomas Winn Morecambe 45
James Holt Wilpshire 45
Jack Shelly Formby 45
Hannan Hahmood Bury 40
Joey Lamb Wilpshire 40
Joshua Wilkinson Grange Park 40
Phil Stanley Penwortham 40
Matt Robinson Eaton 40
Andrew Allen Manchester 40
Nathan Lingard Accrington 40
Michael Howard Royal Birkdale 35
Richard Bee Phoenix Park 30
Mark Rabone Southport & Ainsdale 30
Sean Blinkhorn Southport & Ainsdale 30
Ross Palin Vicars Cross 30
Joshua Dye Delamere Forest 30
Gary Crowder Bromborough 30
Tom Briggs Accrington 30
Mark Ashworh Clitheroe 30
Declan Illingworth Formby 25
Dave Simpson Lytham Green Drive 25
Ian Kenwright Haydock Park 25
Dave Lanson Penwortham 25
Martin Thomas Royal Liverpool 25
Tom Duncalf Sandiway 25
Paul Knight Eastham Lodge 25
Gary Spann Stand 25
Chris Harrison Sandiway 20
Paul Langford Wallasey 20
Joseph Bannan Manchester 20
Kyle Evans Prenton 20
Andrew Heesom Clitheroe 15
Chris Chilton Birchwood 15
Lewis George Delamere Forest 15
Alex Baguley Ashton 15
Jason Kelly Accrington 15
Andrew Walsh Pleasington 15
Andrew Michie Ashton & Lea 10
Graeme Jackson Manchester 10
Stephen Warhurst Stockport 10
Ralph Postlethwaite Clitheroe 10
Daniel Joyce S&A 10
Tim Cooper Bolton 10



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: