History man Young strikes silver again

HISTORY was created in the Silver Goblet at Royal Birkdale where Lancashire county champion Mark Young became the first player to win the event two years running.

And it was also the first time the competition was reduced to one round due to the weather.

The Longridge man, who is turning professional at the end of the season, also won the Grange Park Rose Bowl the previous week.

He moved to within 55 points of county team-mate, Bury’s Ciaran Doherty, who leads the Cleveland Srixon Northern Order of Merit.

And with eight fixtures remaining, Young is back on course to win the title for a record sixth time after missing the early part of the series.

But he had a close shave at Birkdale, prevailing on countback which went to the last three holes from Moor Allerton’s Ben Mountain after the pair posted four-under-par 68s.

Pleasington’s Jonathan Hurst claimed third place after a 70.


SCORES (Par 72): 68 Mark Young (Longridge), Ben Mountain (Moor Allerton); 70 Jonathan Hurst (Pleasington); 73 Richard Baird (Vicars Cross); 74 Paul McFerran (Childwall); 75 Tom Dolan (Heswall), Richie Blundell (Hillside), Ashley Siddle (Rossendale), Drew Molloy (Hillside), James Fletcher (Preston), Sean Towndrow (S&A); 76 Nick Tomlinson (Mold).

After 19 events


Ciaran Doherty Bury 630
Mark Young Longridge 575
Joe Bryce Manchester 415
Curtis Clarkin Nelson 400
Jonathan Hurst Pleasington 370
Richie Blundell Hillside 360
Sean Towndrow Southport & Ainsdale 340
Paul McFerran Childwall 335
Thomas Gandy Rowany 295
Sam Prince Altrincham 290
John Carroll Huyton & Prescot 265
Paul Howard Southport & Ainsdale 250
Dominic Barnes Caldy 250
Anthony Harwood Blackburn 235
James Fletcher Preston 210
Paul Kinnear Formby 200
David Peel Stockport 200
Ian Hardman Accrington 195
Kieran Waters Carlisle 165
Henry Tomlinson Royal Lytham 150
Mark Geddes Prenton 150
Lloyd Hart Heswall 150
Adam Smith Accrington 150
Chris Nuttall Accrington 150
Matthew Ford Mere 150
Roger Smithies Manchester 150
David Nelson Northenden 150
Ben Levene Bramall 140
Daniel Creaney S&A 125
Josh Meeks Lymm 120
Mark Penney Alderley Edge 115
Danield Benson Prestbury 110
Mark Duncalf Formby 105
Tom Dolan Bromborough 105
Adam Delves Old Padeswood 100
James McCormick Styal 100
Gareth Evans Wrexham 100
Shaun Field Nelson 100
Ben Mountain Moor Allerton 100
Darrah Coghlan Portmarnock 95
Joey Lamb Wilpshire 90
Oscar Granstrom-Livesey Royal Mid-Surrey 75
Mark Birkett Todmorden 75
Matthew Fitzpatrick Hallamshire 75
Steve McGlynn Preston 75
Marcus Mohr Bromborough 75
Richard Shaw Enville 75
Joe Armitt Prestbury 75
Lee Mayers Fairhaven 70
Andrew Allen Manchester 70
Hannan Hahmood Bury 65
Daniel Sutton Walsall 60
Will Bowe Workington 60
Ken Hudson Hart Common 60
Clive Robertson Green Howarth 60
Martin Barnes Manchester 60
Paul Wilson Northenden 60
Richard Baird Vicars Cross 60
James Rooney West Lancs 50
Alexander Elliott Prestbury 50
Daryl Callister Mount Murray 50
Jack Duncalf Sandiway 50
James Hornsby Heswall 50
Brett Langstreth Wilpshire 50
Kris Sutcliffe Crompton & Royton 50
Greg Smith Jnr Caldy 50
Joe Whittaker Bolton 45
Steven Jopson Carlisle 45
David Hurd Wallasey 45
Toby Roberts Lancaster 45
Thomas Winn Morecambe 45
James Holt Wilpshire 45
Jack Shelly Formby 45
Simon Irwin Chesfield Downs 45
Stephen McIvor Grange Park 45
Joshua Wilkinson Grange Park 40
Phil Stanley Penwortham 40
Matt Robinson Eaton 40
Nathan Lingard Accrington 40
Dave Norbury Crompton & Royton 40
Michael Howard Royal Birkdale 35
Richard Bee Phoenix Park 30
Mark Rabone Southport & Ainsdale 30
Sean Blinkhorn Southport & Ainsdale 30
Ross Palin Vicars Cross 30
Joshua Dye Delamere Forest 30
Gary Crowder Bromborough 30
Tom Briggs Accrington 30
Mark Ashworh Clitheroe 30
Chris Murphy Bramall Park 30
Ashley Siddle Rossendale 30
Declan Illingworth Formby 25
Dave Simpson Lytham Green Drive 25
Ian Kenwright Haydock Park 25
Dave Lanson Penwortham 25
Martin Thomas Royal Liverpool 25
Tom Duncalf Sandiway 25
Paul Knight Eastham Lodge 25
Gary Spann Stand 25
Mark Austin Warrington 25
Anthony Milner Northenden 25
Reece Cranfield Wigan 25
Drew Molloy Hillside 25
Chris Harrison Sandiway 20
Paul Langford Wallasey 20
Joseph Bannan Manchester 20
Kyle Evans Prenton 20
Dom McHugh Northenden 20
Callum McPhillips Formby 20
Andrew Heesom Clitheroe 15
Chris Chilton Birchwood 15
Lewis George Delamere Forest 15
Alex Baguley Ashton 15
Jason Kelly Accrington 15
Andrew Walsh Pleasington 15
David Burn Longridge 15
David Monks Deane 15
Robert Nesbitt Ilkley 15
Andrew Michie Ashton & Lea 10
Graeme Jackson Manchester 10
Stephen Warhurst Stockport 10
Ralph Postlethwaite Clitheroe 10
Daniel Joyce S&A 10
Tim Cooper Bolton 10
Davie Whitley Bramhall 10
Nick Tomlinson Mold 10






Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: