Lancs seniors bid for first England crown

LANCASHIRE will be appearing in their fourth successive English Senior County Championship Finals and their fifth overall at Surrey club  Hindhead next week.

But the title has so far eluded the north region winners who will field six of the side that finished third last year at The RAC Club in Terry Brown, Alan Gillespie, Mike Gray, Stewart King, Jeremy Morgan and Glyn Rees.

King is an England senior international who finished third in last year’s English Seniors Championship, while Rees is a Welsh senior cap. The side also includes their senior county champion Tony Holt.

The 10th anniversary of the event is on October 7-9 and Kent has been the dominant county, being present in every final but one and winning the title on five occasions.

They are back again this year seeking a sixth success while Lancashire, Gloucestershire and Nottinghamshire will be eager to stop them.

Apart from Kent, only two other counties, Cheshire and Hertfordshire, have lifted the title. Cheshire held the upperhand in the early years, winning three times of the first four championships before Kent took over. The champions from the Midlands and the South West have yet to win.

The only year which didn’t feature Kent was in 2012 when Hertfordshire succeeded them as champions while their opponents then were the other three counties this time. Kent will field five of last year’s winning side at RAC Epsom in Ross Galgut, Chris Hurst, senior internationals Richard Partridge and Chris Reynolds and David Weighton

Partridge has been a senior cap for the past two years and represented GB&I in the inaugural Concession Cup against the USA in Florida earlier this year, while Reynolds made his England seniors debut in 2006. He won the English Seniors Championship in 2009 and has finished runner-up on three other occasions. He has also been runner-up in the British Seniors.


Gloucestershire: Richard Boulding (Henbury) Bob Broad (Minchinhampton) Nick Gore (Thornbury) Bill Higgins (Tewkesbury) Stuart Masson (Minchinhampton) David Potter (Naunton Downs) Andy Selway (Bristol & Clifton) Richard Wood (Long Ashton)

Kent: Philip Bramall (Chart Hills) Ross Galgut (Littlestone) Bruce Hilsdon (Littlestone) Chris Hurst (Pedham Place) Dave Jessup (Wrotham Heath) Richard Partridge (Wildernesse) Chris Reynolds (Littlestone) David Weighton (Littlestone)

Lancashire: Terry Brown (Stand) Ian Crowther (Royal Lytham & St Anne’s) Alan Gillespie (St Anne’s Old Links) Mike Gray (Lancaster) Tony Holt (Wilpshire) Stewart King (West Lancashire) Jeremy Morgan (Longridge) Glyn Rees (Fleetwood)

Nottinghamshire: Charles Banks (Stanton-on-the-Wolds) David Brown (Sherwood Forest) Graeme MacDonald (Newark) Derek McJannet (Coxmoor) Alastair McLachlan (Notts) Neil Martin (Wollaton Park) Stuart Pond (Worksop) Chris Powell (Sherwood Forest)



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: