A ‘purr-fect’ day for Peel

DAVID Peel had plenty of reasons for grinning like the proverbial Cheshire Cat when he won the Wilmslow Crow for the second year running.



For he became the first holder of the title named after the character in Lewis Carroll’s Alice in Wonderland and awarded for the best aggregate score in a 72-hole competition which combined with the Stockport Salver.

And it was Peel’s idea in the first place to run the two-day event which qualified for amateur world ranking points in addition to coming under the auspices of the Galvin Green Northern Order of Merit.

The Stockport member, a former Cheshire captain, said: “We had maximum fields of 66 each day with many competitors off plus handicaps while higher handicappers had to be balloted out at both clubs.

“This event can only keep growing and continue to attract the region’s best golfers. The Order of Merit also plays a huge part in ensuring a regular flow of players into our county teams.”

Peel, who finished seventh at Stockport, turned up the volume at Wilmslow with rounds of 68, which contained six birdies, and 72, four-under-par all told, to win by three shots from George Bloor, of Cavendish.

Fifth placed Sam Prince, from Northenden, moved into second place in the merit and lies 55 points behind Formby’s Paul Kinnear.

SCORES: 140 David Peel (Stockport) 68 72; 143 George Bloor (Cavendish) 72 71; 147 Benjamin Hallam (Wychwood Park) 74 73, Joseph Armitt (Prestbury) 72 75; 148 Sam Prince (Northenden) 77 71, Dominic Barnes (Caldy) 76 72, Thomas Lawton (Wilmslow) 74 74, James McCormick (Styal) 73 75, Ciaran Doherty (Bury) 73 75; 149 Daniel Creaney (S&A) 74 75,Joshua Crumplin (Macclesfield) 71 78; 150 Jon Beesley (Mere) 76 74.



Name Club Points
Paul Kinnear Formby 450
Sam Prince Northenden 395
Adam Wills Portal Premier 385
James McCormick Styal 310
Ian Hardman Accrington 305
Dominic Barnes Caldy 300
Reece Cranfield Wigan 290
John Carroll Huyton & Prescot 290
Ciaran Doherty Bury 235
Matt Robinson Eaton 200
Jack Shelley Formby 195
David Peel Stockport 190
Jon Beesley Mere 185
Lloyd Hart Heswall 165
Joe Brice Manchester 165
Michael Hunt Pleasington 160
Mark Ashworth Clitheroe 160
Oliver Clarke Hillside 160
Mark Duncalf Formby 150
Steve McGlynn Preston 150
Callum Barrow Royal Lytham 150
Christopher Rushton Ashton & Lea 150
George Bloor Cavendish 150
Rob Cull Bromborough 145
Curtis Clarkin Nelson 135
Sam Berry Bolton 125
Joe Armitt Prestbury 120
Thomas Winn Morecambe 115
Joshua Crumplin Macclesfield 115
Joey Lamb Wilpshire 110
Roger Smithies Manchester 105
Tom Gandy Rowany 100
Stephen Jopson Carlisle 100
John MacMahon Redditch 100
Chris Harrison Sandiway 100
Gary Melling Crompton & Royton 100
Max Penney Alderley Edge 100
Shaun Field Nelson 95
Josh Morton Huddersfield 90
Geoff Harris Formby 85
Richie Blundell Hillside 85
Adam Cockerill Prestbury 85
Jevann Parmar The Leicestershire 75
Joseph Banks West Lancs 75
Tony Holt Wilpshire 75
Paul McFerran Warrington 75
Kris Sutcliffe Crompton & Royton 75
Benjamin Hallam Wychwood Park 75
Sean Towndrow S&A 70
Thomas Lawton Wilmslow 65
Michael Harrington Tytherington 60
Mark Marshall Sale 60
Chris Bracewell Ashton & Lea 60
Grant Little Sandiway 60
Arron Williams Prestatyn 60
Paul Wright Accrington 60
John Ralph Royal Liverpool 60
Daniel Creaney S&A 60
Michael Howard Royal Birkdale 50
Martin Thomas Royal Liverpool 50
Nick Tomlinson Mold 50
Ben Levene Bramhall 50
Chris Nuttall Accrington 50
Ian Martingell Bolton 50
Adam Delves Padeswood & Buckley 45
Jack Laybourne Bingley St Ives 45
Sean Blinkhorn S&A 45
Paul Langford Wallasey 45
Ross Palin Vicars Cross 45
Ken Hudson Hart Common 45
Carl Parker Nelson 40
Kevin Moore Douglas 40
Adam Stott Reddish Vale 40
Anthony Harwood Blackburn 40
Sandy Walsh Pleasington 40
Gary Spann Stand 35
James Holt Wilpshire 30
Aiden Hooson North Manchester 30
Tim Ford Woolton 30
Hannan Mahmood Stand 30
Matt Robinson Eaton 30
Liam Kindom Delamere Forest 30
David Almand-Smith Prestbury 30
James Kempster Stamford 30
SteveWatton Enville 30
David Hird Wallasey 25
Sam Greenhalgh Bury 25
James Hornsby Heswall 25
Andrew Bradshaw Bramhall 25
Daryl Callister Mount Murray 20
Philip Cooney Wigan 20
Paul Knight Eastham Lodge 20
Luke Ormerod Nelson 20
Stu Crompton Haigh Hall 20
Christopher Chilton Birchwood 20
Alistair Hall Halesworth 20
Stephen Warhurst Stockport 15
Mark Arrowsmith Runcorn 15
Tobias Roberts Lancaster 15
Jonathan Joy Wallasey 15
Lee Mayers Fairhaven 15
Richard Fitzgerald Bromborough 15
Matthew Jordan Royal Liverpool 15
Mick Barton Wilpshire 10
Matthew Lamb Fairhaven 10
Joshua Ashton S&A 10
John Sondergaard Lee Park 10
Luke Kelly Ashton-under-Lyne 10
John Dempsey Bolton Old Links 10


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: