Rising stars set to shine in Fairhaven Trophies

THE annual Fairhaven Trophies and Fairhaven Nations Cup, a 72-hole open international scratch championship for boys and girls aged 18 or under,  will swing into action for its 10th year at the Lytham St Annes club on April 29-May 1.

It is an established fixture throughout the UK and Europe and top players from the four home nations ofEngland, Ireland, Scotland and Wales will  compete against some of the bests from other European Nations which includes, Finland, Austria, Germany, Sweden and Switzerland.

The championship is one of the most internationally represented events for juniors in the country.  Included within the elite field of boys is Matty Lamb who has represented England on a number of occasions.  The girls’ field includes Hollie Muse, a member of the England Squad.

With a host of international players and teams, this elite field of juniors is certain to produce some exciting golf. There is no doubt a future star of the golf world will be testing their skills over this great Championship course.

The championship continues to go from strength to strength as the standards further improve in junior golf both regionally and nationally.  The club are particularly pleased to have the strongest field seen with a range of entries from ten countries across Europe.

Some 80 per cent of boys are off a handicap of scratch or better and of those 44 percent are +0.1 or better.

The championship offers an excellent opportunity for players to gain top class competitive experience, as well as developing their course management skills.

The Fairhaven, as it has become known, is one of the strongest and most internationally represented junior Championships in Europe, being included in boys’ and girls’ national order of merits, the European and World Amateur Golf Rankings.

With the event being played on the same date and in the same format as the Lytham Trophy, at neighbouring Royal Lytham & St Annes, it creates a festival of world class amateur golf in the region, giving competitors, spectators, selectors and national team managers the opportunity to see the elite of international amateur golf in one town over the same weekend.


For further information, please contact Martin Robinson

martin@fairhavengolfclub.co.uk or Tel: +44 (0) 1253 736741

Website: http://www.fairhavengolfclub.co.uk


Past notable players


Marco Penge, winner of the Fairhaven Trophy in 2013 and 2014 and recently won the 2016 Sunningdale Foursomes with Sophie Lamb who has also won the Fairhaven Trophy twice.


Tom Lewis, second in the 2008 competition, played a central role in the first two rounds

of the Open Championship in 2011 as an amateur, holding the joint first round lead

after a fantastic round of 65 when playing with Tom Watson. He subsequently turned professional and won his third Tournament, the Portuguese Open.


Rhys Pugh, winner in 2010, played a pivotal role in the Walker Cup in 2011, being MVP

at the age of 17. He also performed well in the 2012 Wales Open when competing as

an amateur.


Jack McDonald, set the new course record in 2010 (68) and has now made good

progress playing in the Scottish Open and the Johnny Walker in 2012 as an amateur,

and losing semi-finalist in 2012 British Amateur Championship. In 2012 he was the

highest ranking Scottish golfer in the WAGR rankings.


Alexandra Peters won the first two girls trophies and the 2012 English Women’s Open

Amateur Strokeplay Champion. She is a professional on the Ladies Tour.


Amber Ratcliffe, winner of the girls trophy in 2010, is also a professional on the Ladies

Tour, having previously been a member of the England women’s team when winning the

2012 Home Internationals.


Emily Taylor, winner in 2011 setting a new course record, also won the English Girls’

Close Amateur Championship in 2012. She, too, is a professional on the Ladies Tour.


Patrick Kelly, 2012 winner, also won the British Boys’ Championship in the same year.


Bradley Neill, runner up in 2013 after losing a play-off to Marco Penge, but went on to enjoy many other successes, the highlight of which was winning the 2014 British Amateur championship.


Albert Eckhardt, following appearances in 2011 and 2012 went on to win the Lytham Trophy in 2013, becoming the first player from Finland to do so.


Tyrrell Hatton, captained the England Team who the 2009 Nations Cup and is an established player on the PGA European Tour


Matthew Fitzpatrick, former world number one amateur and US amateur champion.

who tied 7th at the 2016 Masters, Augusta.


Garrick Porteous, one of the founding players when he challenged for the championship in 2007 and 2009, before going on to win the 2013 British Amateur champion. Now a professional on the PGA European Tour.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: