Lancashire aim to be six hits again

LANCASHIRE have selected a team of youth and experience as they bid to retain their Northern Counties Championship at Delamere Forest on August 3.

And hosts Cheshire will be seeking to avenge a two point defeat by their neighbours last year at Isle of Man club Mount Murray.

The Big Six, as the event is more commonly known, is also the qualifier for the English Finals.

Lancashire, who cleared that hurdle for the sixth time in eight years, went on to claim the coveted crown at Wychwood Park for the fourth occasion since 2008.

LANCS: Ian Kenwright (Haydock Park), Luke Kelley (Ashton-under-Lyne), Jack Clarkson (Lancaster), Reece Cranfield (Wigan), Ciaran Doherty (Bury), Henry Tomlinson (Royal Lytham & St Annes). Reserve:  James Rooney (West Lancs)

The Red Rose men will be back in action on August 6 as they bid to preserve their 100 per cent Daily Telegraph Northern Counties League record, entertaining Cheshire at Clitheroe.

LANCS: Mark Ashworth (Clitheroe), Ian Kenwright (Haydock Park), Luke Kelly (Ashton-under- Lyne), Henry Tomlinson (Royal Lytham), Jack Clarkson (Lancaster), Ciaran Doherty (Bury), Joe Brice (Manchester), James Rooney (West Lancs), Paul McFerran (Warrington), Reece Cranfield (Wigan), Jack Shelley (Formby), Sean Doherty (Rossendale).

Meanwhile, Lancashire boys will get a taste of Roses rivalry next week when they face Yorkshire in a mixed age match at Abbeydale on Monday (July 25) then entertain them at under-18 level at North Manchester on Friday (July 29).

Abbeydale – U16: Bradley Sibson (Chorley), Luke Bartram (Rossendale), Callum Sharratt (Fleetwood), Matthew Gresty (Huyton & Prescot). U15: Grady Rogerson (Royal Lytham & St Annes), John Wilding (Heysham), Louis Talarczyk (Blackpool NS), George Holland (S&A). U14: Mathew Jackman (S&A), Josh Lang (Hillside), Lucas Done (Heysham), Jack Wallbank (Ashton & Lea).

North Manchester – U18:  James Broadbent (Fairhaven), Jordan Whitehouse (Blackley), Joseph Bannan (Manchester), Ethan Davies (Royal Birkdale), Mark Hyde (S&A), Lewis Pownell (Fairfield), Christopher Rushton (Fairhaven),Tyler Smith (Worsley),Greg Holmes (Royal Birkdale), Luke Kelly (Ashton- under- Lyne), Harvey Talarczyk (Royal Lytham & St Annes), James Holland (Southport & Ainsdale),




Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: