Archive for August 14th, 2016

Kenwright plays his cards right

MAN-IN-FORM Ian Kenwright won his second Galvin Green Northern Order of Merit event of the season when he claimed the Grange Park Rose Bowl for the third time in five years.

The 2015 Lancashire County champion from Haydock Park, who won the S&A Bowl in May, was three strokes off the pace after an opening score of one-over-par 73.

But he made amends in the next round with a run of four birdies in eight holes, including on the final two, to prevail by a shot from Macclesfield’s Joshua Crumplin.

Third place Tom Dolan, from Heswall, increased his lead in the merit to an impressive 750 points, 195 ahead of Cheshire team-mate and title holder Sam Prince from Northenden.

LEADING SCORES: 142 Ian Kenwright (Haydock Park) 73 69; 143 Joshua Crumplin (Macclesfield) 73 70; 145 Tom Dolan (Heswall) 73 72, Curtis Clarkin (Nelson) 72 73; 148 Paul Kinnear (Formby) 74 74, Joshua Wilkinson (Grange Park) 72 76, Mark Rabone (Southport & Ainsdale) 71 77; 149 Richard Fitzgerald (Bromborough) 75 74, Paul McFerran (Warrington) 74 75, Joe Banks (West Lancs) 70 79; 150 Mark Arrowsmith (Widnes) 77 73, Daniel Croft (Huyton & Prescot) 74 76.


Meanwhile, Chris Chilton won his maiden Galvin Green Northern Order of Merit event when he called the shots in the Revidge Cannon at Blackburn.

The High Legh Park plus two man rolled in six birdies in an opening four-under-par 67 and followed up with a 68, which included an eagle at the 10th, for a seven-under-par aggregate. He finished five strokes ahead of Clitheroe’s Mark Ashworth who was defending the title.

LEADING SCORES: 135 Chris Chilton (High Leigh Park) 67 68; 140 Mark Ashworth (Clitheroe) 68 72; 142 Lewis Pownell (Fairfield) 71 71, Anthony Harwood (Blackburn) 70 72; 146 Stephen Ling (Chorley) 72 74; 147 Anthony Flanagan (Clitheroe) 70 77; 148 John Blahuta (Clitheroe) 72 76; 150 Thomas Riley (Clitheroe) 77 73; 153 Paul Swan (Blackburn) 72 81; 154 Michael Boyle (Blackburn) 77 77; 155 Gary Byrne (Clitheroe) 77 78; 156 Graeme Booth (Prestatyn) 79 77.

STANDINGS AFTER 22 EVENTS                                                                    PTS


Tom Dolan Heswall 750
Sam Prince Northenden 555
Ian Kenwright Haydock Park 540
John Carroll Huyton & Prescot 460
Paul McFerran Warrington 370
Anthony Harwood Blackburn 335
Chris Chilton High Legh Park 310
Joe Brice Manchester 300
Mark Ashworth Clitheroe 300
Tom Winn Morecambe 290
Paul Kinnear Formby 290
Jack Brooks Didsbury 275
Josh Morton Huddersfield 270
Mike Harrington Mottram Hall 260
Mark Duncalf Formby 260
Richie Blundell Hillside 255
Callan Barrow Royal Lytham 235
Lewis George Delamere Forest 200
Richard Shaw Enville 195
Calum Metcalfe Pleasington 190
Ben Crompton Manchester 175
Sam Turner Royal Lytham 175
Josh Garside Prestbury 170
Max Rogers Astbury 161
Timothy Ford Woolton 160
Oliver Clarke Hillside 150
Roger Smithies Manchester 150
James Newton Prestbury 150
Ben Hallam Wychwood Park 150
Henry Young Alls Notts 150
Curtis Clarkin Nelson 150
Jon Beesley Mere 135
Aaron Harper Bolton Old Links 125
Nick Tomlinson Vicars Cross 120
Jack Shelley Formby 120
Geoff Harris Formby 115
Robert Cull Bromborough 105
Lewis Pownell Fairfield 105
Daniel Croft Huyton & Prescot 105
Gareth Bradley Bramhall 100
James Rooney West Lancs 100
David Illingsworth Formby 100
Sham Jagoti Eaton 100
Ian Hardman Accrington 100
Steve McGlynn Preston 100
Nicholas Smits Gog Magog 100
Joshua Crumplin Macclesfield 100
Ciaran Doherty Bury 90
Mark Rabone Southport & Ainsdale 90
Tony Flanagan Clitheroe 85
Reece Cranfield Wigan 80
Sam Berry Bolton 80
Cameron Massey Wallasey 80
Paul Wilson Woolstanton 80
Rhys Nevin-Wharton Sandiway 75
Joe Armitt Prestbury 75
Matthew Kay Manchester 75
James Blyth West Lancs 75
Ben Scott Accrington 75
Henry Tomlinson Royal Lytham 75
Tom Kirton Prestbury 75
Craig Fallows Huyton & Prescot 70
James Kempster Bramall 70
Adam Cockerill Prestbury 65
Joe Banks West Lancs 65
Josh McMahon Wallasey 60
Jacob Oakley Styal 60
David Janson Penwortham 60
Cam Tye Eaton 60
Jeremiah Hayes Prestbury 60
Richard Fitzgerald Bromborough 60
Lewis Boyle Pleasington 55
Alex Fitzpatrick Hallamshire 50
Matt Robinson Eaton 50
John Wilding Heysham 50
Stephen Hargreaves Leasowe 50
Anthony Stirling Formby 50
Tom Hunter Caldy 50
Stephen Ling Chorley 50
Thomas Gore Formby Hall 45
James Holt Wilpshire 45
Joshua Wilkinson Grange Park 45
Gareth Hastie Bolton 40
Dominic Barnes Caldy 40
Liam Jenkinson Ashton & Lea 40
J Higgins Pike Fold 40
Nick Baglin Prestbury 40
John Blahuta Clitheroe 40
David Smethurst Formby 30
Brett Lancstreth Wilpshire 30
Will Dodds Styal 30
Ben Kay Stockport 30
Andrew Day Ferndown 30
Richard Lowery Prestbury 30
Gary Byrne Clitheroe 30
Thomas Riley Clitheroe 30
Paul Langford Wallasey 25
Mark Hyde Wigan 25
Charles Bradley Bramhall 25
David Peel Stockport 25
Greg McIlroy Southport & Ainsdale 25
Jack Nickolson Llangollen 25
Luke Ormerod Nelson 25
Josh Ashton Southport & Ainsdale 25
Matthew Bargh Heysham 25
Graeme Jackson Manchester 25
Daniel Creaney S&A 25
James Reason Brampton 25
Graeme Booth Prestatyn 25
Paul Swan Blackburn 25
Aiden Hooson Manchester 20
John Mason Leasowe 20
Alex Webb Preston 20
George Wilson Caldy 20
Jonathan Hurst Pleasington 20
Kris Sutcliffe Crompton & Royton 20
Richard Hodgkinson Lindrick 20
Harvey Talarczyh Royal Lytham 20
Michael Howard Royal Birkdale 20
Darren Coop Chesterfield 20
Mitchell Boyle Blackburn 20
Ian Martinbell Bolton 15
Ryan Connolly West Lancs 15
Joe Sephton Prenton 15
Tom Rowland Helsby 15
Sean Nicholls Pleasington 15
Scott McGregor Wakefield 15
George Mitchell Astbury 15
Mark Arrowsmith Widnes 15
Aaron Williams Prestatyn 10
Tim Cooper Bolton 10
Anthony Sterling Formby 10
John Shuttleworth Penwortham 10
Richard Shak Pleasington 10
Kevin Brown Bromborough 10
Andrew Fitzpatrick Keighley 10
Peter Handcock Harleyford 10



Houston aiming for Leeds Cup treble

GARRY Houston concedes that his chance of resurrecting his European Tour career is probably no longer a viable proposition.


Garry Houston shows off the Leeds Cup last year

“I’ve not given up all hope but I have to be realistic because at 45 a lot of players hit the ball almost twice as far as me,” he said as prepared to defend the Leeds Cup at Moor Allerton on August 24-25.

“The thought of travelling and competing with a younger age group does not appeal to me and many of my pals I grew up with, such as Phil Archer and Neil Cheetham, don’t do it anymore. Maybe in a year or two I might start looking to play at senior level.

Houston has been struggling with tennis elbow, which has restricted his playing, but he has been “doing a bit of everything” at his club Carden Park from teaching, caddy mastering and marshalling.

“It’s kept my mind busy but I’ve also managed my practice time and with three events to play, I could still qualify for the PGA play-offs again which was my target at the start of the season. I finished fourth in the PGA North Region Championship at Carus Green in June so I’ve already picked up some points.”

Houston won the Leeds cup for the first time at Oulton Hall in 2012. And if he prevails at Moor Allerton he will join a select band of players who have their names etched on professional golf’s oldest trophy on three or more occasions since its inception in 1902 when the legendary Harry Vardon won.

There are five other past winners in the field including former Huddersfield professional Paul Carman who won in 1992, Phil Archer (Birchwood) 2000; Jonathan Cheetham (unatt) 2003; John Wells (Beverley) 2007; and David Smith (Swinton Park) 2011.

Meanwhile, there will be a curtain-raising pro-am on August 23.