It’s Towndrow at the double

ENGLAND international Sean Towndrow (pictured) enjoyed a double celebration when he won the Formby Hare in the Galvin Green Northern Order of Merit and the Lancashire Links Trophy, a 72-hole competition combined with his home club Southport & Ainsdale and spread over the weekend.

He finished fourth on the first day but stepped up a gear on the next with roSean-Towndrow.jpgunds of 72 and 70, two-under-par all told, to deny West Lancs player James Rooney on countback.

His performance hoisted him to the top of the aggregate scoring in the World Amateur Golf Ranking event in which Towndrow’s clubmates James Holland, who won the S&A Trophy, and Daniel Creaney claiming second and third spots.

Meanwhile, there’s a four-way at the top of the Order of Merit featuring Towndrow, Holland, Northenden’s Cameron Massie and Nelson’s Curtis Clarkin.

LEADING SCORES: 142 Sean Towndrow (Southport & Ainsdale) 72 70, James Rooney (West Lancs) 71 71; 148 Alex McAuley (Mount Murray) 74 74; 149 George Holland (Southport & Ainsdale) 78 71; 150 Callum Blackhorn (Leigh) 73 77; 151 Paul Lowey (Rowany) 75 76; 152 Harvey Talarczyk (Royal Lytham) 78 74, Phil Sargent (Haydock Park) 76 76, Calum Hey (Shipley) 75 77, Anthony Stirling (Formby) 75 77, Ian Kenwright (Haydock Park) 74 78, Daniel Creaney (Southport & Ainsdale) 73 79.


Cameron Massey Northenden 210
Curtis Clarkin Nelson 210
James Holland Southport & Ainsdale 210
Sean Towndrow Southport & Ainsdale 210
John Carroll Huyton & Prescot 200
Steven Capper Caldy 170
Ciaran Doherty Bury 150
Callum Blinkhorn S&A 145
Ian Kenwright Haydock Park 115
James Rooney West Lancs 100
Daniel Creaney Southport & Ainsdale 85
Christopher Chilton High Legh Park 75
Jack Brooks Didsbury 75
Jamie Kinsley-Wilson St Annes Old Links 75
Alex McAuley Mount Murray 75
Aiden Hoosen Manchester 60
Calum Hey Shipley 55
Aidan O’Hagen Old Course 50
Gary Melling Crompton & Royton 50
George Holland Southport & Ainsdale 50
George Bloor Cavendish 45
Jack Nicholson Vale of Llangollen 45
Robert Noon Mount Murray 45
Paul Lawey Rowany 45
Tom Ryder St Annes Old Links 40
Chris Harrison Sandiway 40
Simon Older Fleetwood 40
Ben Bernamont The Warwickshire 40
Harvey Talarczyl Royal Lytham 40
Joe Brice Manchester 30
Mark Duncalf Formby 30
Andrew Walsh Pleasington 30
Phil Sargent Haydock Park 30
Remy Miller Prestbury 25
Bryan Hughes Hesketh 25
Calum Metcalfe Pleasington 20
Steven McGlynn Preston 20
Reece Cranfield Wigan 20
Anthony Stirling Formby 20
Lewis Pownell Fairfield 15
Jon Beesley Mere 15
Anthony Lester Mossock Hall 15
Greg McIlroy Southport & Ainsdale 15
Jonathan Little Heswall 10
Thomas Kerr Shrewsbury 10
Allen Bowerbank Ellesmere 10
Nicholas Peoples Royal Lytham 10




Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: