Archive for July 9th, 2018

Top class field for English women’s amateur

A TOP class field will gather at Wilmslow Golf Club  next week for the English women’s closed amateur championship. Local hopes will focus on Bel Wardle from Prestbury, who already holds the English open title and will be targeting a special double.


The 18-year-old (pictured, Image copyright Leaderboard Photography) is one of a number of high-profile players in the 72-hole stroke play championship, which runs from Tuesday to Thursday, 17-19 July.

Among them are three members of the GB&I Curtis Cup team: India Clyburn (Woodhall Spa), Annabell Fuller (Roehampton) and Sophie Lamb (Clitheroe).

The trio, together with Lianna Bailey (Kirby Muxloe), will arrive at Wilmslow straight after this week’s European women’s team championship, where they are defending England’s gold medal.

Another five players are representing England in the European girls’ team championship and will also be making the quick turnaround. They are Ebonie Lewis (Long Ashton), Martha Lewis (St George’s Hill), Hannah Screen (Berkhamsted), Caitlin Whitehead (Carus Green) and Amelia Williamson (Royal Cromer).

The championship has attracted a strong entry from Cheshire with 10 players in the field, including six members of the county team. Alongside county champion Bel Wardle are Poppy Finlay (Vicars Cross), Lucy Jamieson (Heswall), Lauren Jones (Mellor and Townscliffe), Charlotte Leathem, who has the advantage of local knowledge as a Wilmslow member, and Emily McBurney (Delamere Forest).

Also playing is Sue Dye of Delamere Forest, who is a past winner of England’s two senior women’s championships.

Wilmslow is one of the oldest golf clubs in Cheshire and has been on its present site for over 100 years. The course is well known as a great test of golf and has hosted regional qualifying for The Open, professional events and those for top amateurs, including the 2013 English Women’s County Finals.

Click here for more championship information, including tee times.





Booth keeps up the pressure  

FORMBY Hall’s Graeme Booth extended his lead in the Galvin Green Northern Order of Merit to 85 points over Nelson’s Curtis Clarkin after finishing eighth in the Royton Sword.

Michael Bennett, from Bury, won the day with rounds of 70 and 69, pipping Manchester’s Roger Smithies on countback.

Next up is the Pleasington Antlers on Sunday.

LEADING SCORES: 139 Michael Bennett (Bury) 70 69, Roger Smithies (Manchester) 67 72; 141 Ciaran Doherty (Bury) 70 71; 142 Lewis Pownell (Fairfield) 67 75; 144 OllieTovee (Macclesfield) 69 75, Thomas Winn (Morecambe) 68 76; 148 Matthew Kay (Manchester) 78 70, Graeme Booth (Formby Hall) 76 72; 150 Andrew Allen (Manchester) 77 73; 151 Anthony Harwood (Blackburn) 78 73, Thomas Rigby (Dean Wood) 77 74; 152 Craig Fallows (Huyton & Prescot) 77 75.

 ORDER OF MERIT: 470 Graeme Booth (Formby Hall); 385 Curtis Clarkin (Nelson); 340 Calum Metcalfe (Pleasington); 305 Ciaran Doherty (Bury); 265 Ian Kenwright (Haydock Park); 230 Oliver Ravenscroft (Hillside); 215 Steve Capper (Royal Liverpool); 205 Anthony Harwood (Blackburn); 175 Richie Blundell (Hillside); 170 Jack Brooks (Mere); 165 Michael Bennett (Bury); 160 Aiden Hoosen (Manchester).


Graeme Booth Formby Hall 470
Curtis Clarkin Nelson 385
Calum Metcalfe Pleasington 340
Ciaran Doherty Bury 305
Ian Kenwright Haydock Park 265
Oliver Ravenscroft Hillside 230
Steven Capper Royal Liverpool 215
Anthony Harwood Blackburn 205
Richie Blundell Hillside 175
Jack Brooks Mere 170
Michael Bennett Bury 165
Aiden Hoosen Manchester 160
John Carroll Huyton & Prescot 150
Matt Collinge Greenmount 150
Martin Thomas Royal Liverpool 150
Jake Hibbert Delamere Forest 150
Luke Kelly Ashton-under-Lyne 150
Thomas Kirton Prestbury 150
Matthew Nuttall Royal Birkdale 145
Greg Holmes Royal Birkdale 145
Mark Hyde Southport & Ainsdale 135
Mark Duncalf Southport & Ainsdale 135
Tom Winn Morecambe 125
Harry Lord Rossendale 120
Chris Chilton Stockport 105
Gregory Osborne Delamere Forest 105
Jonathan Little Heswall 100
Bryan Hughes Hesketh 100
Greg McIlroy Southport & Ainsdale 100
Benjamin Hallam Wychwood Park 100
Liam Jenkinson Ashton & Lea 100
Joseph Williamson Heswall 100
Chris Nuttall Accrington 100
Ben Chamberlain Padeswood & Buckley 100
Roger Smithies Manchester 100
Lewis Boyle Pleasington 85
Callum Scott Nairn 80
Stephen Hargreaves Leasowe 75
Joseph Bannan Manchester 75
Graham Strachan Bury 75
Robert Cull Bromborough 75
Callum Blinkhorn Leigh 75
Anthony Stirling Formby 65
Oliver Claireaux Portal 60
Rhys Nevin-Wharton Sandiway 60
Joe Whittaker Deane 60
Lewis Pownell Fairfield 60
Thomas Rigby Dean Wood 55
Sean Comiskey Hesketh 50
Dave Morris Tenby 50
Daniel Creaney Southport & Ainsdale 50
Reece Cranfield Wigan 50
Ben Ewen Wilpshire 50
Simon Pay Helsby 50
Andrew Walsh Ashton & Lea 50
Chris Lowe Hindley Hall 50
Jack Nicholson Vicars Cross 50
Matthew Kay Manchester 50
Ollie Tovee Macclesfield 50
Lewis Johansen Caldy 45
Callum Swift Kings Hill 45
Owen Leigh Pleasington 45
Robert Noon Douglas 45
Mark Jones Clitheroe 45
Mark Kimpton Vicars Cross 45
Richard Fitzgerald Bromborough 45
Jack Cornes Lymm 40
Simon Williams Chester 40
Greg Whitby Chester 40
James Eastham Pleasington 40
John Shuttleworth Penwortham 30
Ryan Nevins Styal 30
Greg Smith Caldy 30
Simon Jones Padeswood & Buckley 30
Thomas Hollingworth Macclesfield 30
Gareth Clark Manchester 30
Phil Sargent Haydock Park 30
Kevin Moore Douglas 25
Daryl Callister Mount Murray 25
Dominic Barnes Caldy 25
Jack Shelley Formby 25
Harry Beavan Crewe 25
Marvin Clarke Kirkby Valley 25
Sham Jagota Eaton 25
James Kempster Bramhall 25
Tom Ryder St Annes Old Links 25
Zachary Hargreaves Accrington 25
Andrew Allen Manchester 25
Leigh Clayton Fleetwood 20
Tom Harris Castletown 20
Joshua Dye Delamere Forest 20
Jason Thomas Ashton & Lea 20
Peter Glover Douglas 20
John Balhuta Clitheroe 20
Max Baxendale Swinton Park 20
George Young Clitheroe 15
Grady Rogerson Royal Lytham 15
David Peel Stockport 15
Thomas Riley Clitheroe 15
Liam Kindon Delamere Forest 15
Joe Raeside Mount Murray 15
Jay Walkden Baxenden 15
Paul Galt Prenton 15
Gary Blades Burnley 10
Alex Webb Preston 10
John Reed Preston 10
Michael Sumner Formby 10
David Higginbotham Southport & Ainsdale 10
Greg Peel Wilpshire 10
James Ashfield Eaton 10
Max Rogers Astbury 10
Charles Taylor Accrington 10
Aaron Williams Prestatyn 10
Craig Fallows Huyton & Prescot 10



Issued by David Birtill.Tel: 01254 831844; Mob: 07850539110; Email: